An incredible travel story of kindness and trust

During my trip to Utrecht in Netherlands  in July 2023, I met Vic on the train. Vic is from Johannesburg (aka Joburg/ Jozi) in South Africa. Both Vic and I were looking for the train to Utrecht from the Amsterdam airport and our paths collided. 

We engaged in a hearty conversation about our lives and soon realised that we understand each other as human beings. Our vibes matched instantly and effortlessly. 

As I expressed by desire of exploring Africa to her, she encouraged me to fulfil my aspirations. Some thirty minutes into our conversation, she surpassed all worldly benevolences by inviting me to stay at her home in Joburg if I happen to visit the city any time.

To think of it, Vic and I had been conversing for a very small duration of time and, hence, I was technically still a ‘stranger’ to her. Therefore, this was an unprecedentedly kind gesture from her side and it left me speechless. From my heart, I knew her invitation was truthful and authentic (and not perfunctory in any way). 

Trust, as we know, forms the cornerstone of any relationship in this world. For the trust she displayed in a stranger, I was filled with respect and affection for her.

At that time, travelling to South Africa was a far-fetched idea to me. 

Fast forward 8 months, I have been on a trip to South Africa, spent a night at her place (even though she was herself away hiking in the wild coast) and have created some beautiful memories in her city.

Yes, all the pieces of the puzzle have magically fallen in place to make the vision into a reality.

A South African and an Indian woman clicking a selfie at the Utrecht Station in Netherlands.
Vic and I at the the Utrecht Station in Netherlands

Moral of the story- 

With her unprecedented gesture of kindness, Vic has taught me that there is no limit to showing love, care and support to humanity. 

We show love and support to our friends and family easily but it takes a different level of consciousness to do the same for people we barely know.

I believe it’s not possible to ‘payback’ her generosity in any way but I can pass the kindness forward to the world and keep this virtuous cycle going.

Last but not least, to know how to receive is a human skill that we must learn to cultivate. Today I believe I’ve learnt to accept and receive with grace and hope that I’ve been able to reciprocate to her generosity with gracefulness. 

For all the friends I have lost this year, I know I have found her as a new friend in my life. That fills my heart with immense gratitude.

Leave a comment